Page 1 of 1

How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:05 pm
by LucasA33
I want to add "Music" To the game. But, I want the music to be displayed in "A certain area"

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:09 pm
by asmodeus
create a region (Add Actor -> Type: filled or wire frame region). Use for the collision event with the player this:
Code: Select all
PlayMusic2(your_music, 1.000000, 0, HIGH_PRIORITY_MUSIC);

put the region on that place, where it has to start and it should work.

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:19 pm
by BlarghNRawr
thats the coding way...
why does everyone use codes instead of the easy way?

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:21 pm
by asmodeus
blarghNRawr wrote:thats the coding way...
why does everyone use codes instead of the easy way?

You can do more in codes.

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:35 pm
by LucasA33
I tried it, but I need spicific music like .wav, Where can I get that

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:37 pm
by BlarghNRawr
u want music?
i have pokemon music u can use...
its every thing from SSBB :D

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:41 pm
by asmodeus
LucasA33 wrote:I tried it, but I need spicific music like .wav, Where can I get that

GE can play a lot of music formats.
You can download midis: http://www.vgmusic.com/
You can also ask ==Kalladdolf==. He could make you music as wma, wav or mp3. Surely many more.
If you would like to have another format of music, tell me, maybe I can help you.

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:43 pm
by BlarghNRawr
i think .ogg is the best
just get a converter from download.com

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:48 pm
by asmodeus
asmodeus wrote:You can also ask ==Kalladdolf==. He could make you music as wma, wav or mp3.

Sorry, don't use mp3. You can't play them with GE.

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:18 pm
by BlarghNRawr
u wants my music?

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:43 pm
by pyrometal
If possible, use modules for your music files, since they take litterally no space! its actually changing to create a file of these types that exceed 100Kb in space. These are 4 popular types (.it .s3m .xm .mod)

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:06 pm
by asmodeus
pyrometal wrote:If possible, use modules for your music files, since they take litterally no space! its actually changing to create a file of these types that exceed 100Kb in space. These are 4 popular types (.it .s3m .xm .mod)

I agree. But I noticed a problem in GE. It seems that game-editor can't loop the music correctly at "position jumps" in the module. I'm not sure if it at with each module or only with some. I just tested an IT file, but it didn't play anything. When I played the same mmusic as the xm file, it was playing but not looping correctly.

So, when using modules in GE, be sure that there isn't the "position jump".

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:20 pm
by pyrometal
I never had these problems... That's weird... I create and play (.it) files just fine! In fact, Mazeman use (.it) for its music as proof!

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:28 pm
by asmodeus
pyrometal wrote:I never had these problems... That's weird... I create and play (.it) files just fine! In fact, Mazeman use (.it) for its music as proof!

Maybe you can show me that music, to be sure that it is independed on the platform or something like that.

Or maybe haven'T really understood what I mean. When the music ends, it starts at the beginning again with GE, the problem is, that this will also be done if there is "position jump". Do you know what that is in a module?

Re: How Do you add music?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:53 pm
by pyrometal
I never had to use a position jump so I didn't get to see this bug... sorry