Page 1 of 1

How do you make your maps?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:44 am
by Bee-Ant
By cloning, tiles, generate them through arrays, or how???

Re: How do you make your maps?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:19 pm
by Hblade
Well I'ma get GE for linux again rather it's crapy or not :D

I make maps using "layers". I build the maps inside an application called TileStudio, then save the map as an image, :D Make the grey part transparent in Gimp and wala theres the level :3 Well atleast the floor layer :D

Re: How do you make your maps?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:05 am
by Bee-Ant
I didnt ask you how do you draw them...
I asked you how do you build/generate the map in GE.
:s

Re: How do you make your maps?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:44 am
by thunderios
You can read map as level. I first thought you meant that as well, but because I wasn't certain, I didn't post.
I don't make mini maps yet...

Re: How do you make your maps?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 11:23 am
by Bee-Ant
thunderios wrote:You can read map as level. I first thought you meant that as well, but because I wasn't certain, I didn't post.
I don't make mini maps yet...

This is not what I mean as well :cry:

I mean map is your background, your platform, the actor that form the stage...
Ahhh, how do I explain :cry:

Re: How do you make your maps?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:47 pm
by Thanx
I have an idea for what you mean!
This is the way I imagine building maps:
You have graphics, and load them into one actor, call him the map. Then you determine the size of the map (say 10 x 8)
So depending on the size of the game, I say, you clone them either in GE, or through code.
That's for making it visible.

For making it functional, I say you make an array in code, either a 2-dimensional one, or a one dimensional, with width*height elements. To determine a row there: the row is: (index - (index modulo width))/width. That formula first subtracts the modulo, that is, what element the index is in a row: subtracts it to get a number divideable by the width, then divides with the width. The column number is index modulo width. Watch out, that means the lef-most row is row 0!

The array should be an array of either numbers, or whatever you want to use to describe map elements. If that involves more than 1 variable, then create a struct, with different variables, and array the struct.

When creating the map, cloning in runtime (during the game) you can read these values from anywhere, or generate random values through loops.

A number variable can determine the animindex, or animpos.

When you get a function that would make actions specific to one tile, then use the clone number to do stuff... the clone number will correspond to the numbering in the 1-dimensional array!!! That's how I fit everything together...
Hope that helps! :wink: Hope I got your question right :D

Re: How do you make your maps?

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 9:50 am
by Bee-Ant
I didn't ask how to do it either, I asked about your method...Different person must uses different method, I just want to know your method...
Oh well, it seems I would use struct to group the arrays, then save them in binary code to avoid external editing... :)

Re: How do you make your maps?

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 11:01 am
by Hblade
Smart, bee ant :D

Re: How do you make your maps?

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 4:50 pm
by Bee-Ant
Hblade wrote:Smart, bee ant :D

It's not smart, but cheaty...hohoho :twisted:

Re: How do you make your maps?

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 5:03 pm
by Hblade
lol :P