Page 1 of 1

Do multiple animations of same graphics take more memory?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 5:41 pm
by BeyondtheTech
If I have an actor that has multiple animations but of the same graphics (i.e. bird-001 to bird-015.gif), just different speeds, does that take up more memory or resources, or get stored multiple times in the final EXE or DAT file, or does it just get reused?

Here's the application of the idea:

I make a "Matrix Bullet Time" slow motion effect of the same graphic, so that one animation runs much slower than normal. If I understand it correctly, you cannot change that current animation's speed once it is defined in the actor's animation. So, what I would have to do is create animation #1 to be at 20 fps, for example, then animation #2 with the same graphics to be at 10 fps.

I'm just concerned that it would take up twice as much memory for the actor and be a resource hog.

Any insight on this?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:33 am
by makslane
The animations across multiples clones are reused.
But if you use animations, even from the same files, there is no reuse (future versions will have a general compression manager to this issues).

You can try this: add the original animation and use sequences to get different speeds by repeating the frame numbers (1;1;2;2;3;3;...)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:18 pm
by ingsan
Hmmm ... very good idea indeed :idea:

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 2:19 am
by brutalDeluxe
Great tip.