Page 1 of 1

Timer wont change variable value

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 3:37 pm
by Zehper48
i have a timer that is 25000 ms long and i added an action to and actor so after 25000 it would change the value of a variable to 0 but it didnt the code i used to change the value is
Code: Select all
useage==0;

maybe my code isnt right but what ever it is, its messing me up

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 4:49 pm
by Caaz Games
use only one "=" thingy, like this
Code: Select all
useage = 0;
I hope it helped! :D

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 6:28 pm
by Zehper48
i changed the code but it still doesnt work

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 8:50 pm
by Caaz Games
what does it go with , like the thing that looks some thing like this
Code: Select all
if(useage==0)
{
      The action
}

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 12:07 am
by Zehper48
nothing, just after my timer my actor is supposed to change the value of "useage" but its not changing

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 12:44 am
by Sgt. Sparky
did you wait 25 seconds?
(that is how long 25000 MS is.)
I do not know what the problem could be,
exept if you had the timer event created for one actor and you activated it with the wrong actor. :(

have a text actor that has this code on its draw actor event,

Code: Select all
textNumber = usage;

:)
if you are still having problems tell me what the timer options/settings are or just send me the .ged and data. :D

Re: Timer wont change variable value

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 12:47 am
by Sgt. Sparky
Zehper48 wrote:i have a timer that is 25000 ms long and i added an action to and actor so after 25000 it would change the value of a variable to 0 but it didnt the code i used to change the value is
Code: Select all
useage==0;

maybe my code isnt right but what ever it is, its messing me up

also,
if you have not set usage to a different value,
usage will still be 0. :(
(an Idea)