Page 1 of 2

View problems

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:25 pm
by shahs94
I am making a game where a car is driving on a road, and you have to avoid other cars.

the problem is that the view is the parent of the car, and when you switch lanes the car stays in the middle and it looks like the road is moving from side to side.

i am also having problems making boundries so the car can't move out of the road.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:28 pm
by supa-tails
How big is the road, because the view should have no parent so it makes it look like the car is moving.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:41 pm
by shahs94
It's y infinite, which means the only way I make the game follow the car is by having the views parent the car... right?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:48 pm
by Rux
You could have the road, just move down, and the car is stationary, it will still look like the car is going up. To make the road move down, road, create actor,
Code: Select all
yvelocity = + 5;
              ^
   Can be any value.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:48 pm
by supa-tails
hmmm... I am gonna make a demo to test this for you :D

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 5:03 pm
by shahs94
that would be great, but how do you make a boundry so that the car can't go to the left side or right side of the road?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:11 pm
by supa-tails
I would go into paint and make a big red square, then add it to the game, then make the actor collide with it, and then make the big red square invisibal using the transparency bar. :D

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:11 pm
by supa-tails
and I'm almost done with the demo for you :D

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:24 pm
by shahs94
finally... i got the boundry to work, thanks!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:44 pm
by shahs94
I got another question :lol: , is it poossible to have a start over sign (that actually works and starts the whole game over again) appear if you hit a car?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 8:29 pm
by Rux
If you don't have a menu, heres what you do.1. On the restart button, do mousebutton or key down, (which ever it is) and type, 2.
Code: Select all
LoadGame("(Your game title)");


3.Then export the game, and name the file what ever your game title was in step 2. It only works with the exported version. :wink:

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 8:53 pm
by shahs94
That works perfectly! Thanks! :D

This is my final question (probably)....

Is there a certain way to save a game you're working on in the downloaded version of GE? Because everytime I attempt to save it, and reopen it, it always says cannot load project or something like that. This always makes me end up loosing all the work I've done :(

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:13 pm
by supa-tails
Oh wow,that's terribal! :( Although I definately know how you feel, I made SEVERAL awsome games with levels and where detailed and everything, then my computer shut off, and whenever I treid to get back on, it said the computer was missing an important file and couldn't start up, so I had to restart the ENTIRE COMPUTER and put in my time and date and timezone and everything!!! :shock: :cry: :( :o :shock: :x :cry: anyway, have you tried saving it in a sepret folder named GE or MY games or something?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:14 pm
by Rux
What does it exactly say?
I need to know or I can't help you.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:17 pm
by supa-tails
Hey Rux, I love your website, I have been trying to make an interactive buddy game like that for some time now but I can't figure out how.